• Facebook
  • RSS Feed
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
Jul 202011
 

A colleague asked a question about DTRACE rollover today.  It’s a feature which was added recently to Enterprise Vault, the idea being that usually, even in a very large DTRACE you (and/or Support) don’t need to see ALL of it, at least not all the time.

By default DTRACE will rollover at 100 Mb.   This means that when the DTRACE gets to 100 Mb you will get a new file.

You can see the current rollover state by looking in a trace :

Enabled Trace options
Id    Name                             Detail     Include Events
4   - ArchiveTask                      Verbose    Yes         
14  - DirectoryService                 Verbose    Yes         
59  - IndexServer                      Verbose    Yes         
93  - w3wp                             Verbose    Yes        
-----

Display Filter:
  Include strings:
    EV-
    EV:
    EV~
  Exclude strings:
    CMMStream
    DBFramework
    DirectoryConnection
-----
Current File Rollover Settings: 100Mb

When you disable it (see below) you will see :

Enabled Trace options
Id    Name                             Detail     Include Events
2   - AgentClientBroker                Verbose    Yes         
4   - ArchiveTask                      Verbose    Yes         
6   - AuthServer                       Verbose    Yes         
14  - DirectoryService                 Verbose    Yes         
59  - IndexServer                      Verbose    Yes         
93  - w3wp                             Verbose    Yes        
-----

Display Filter:
  Include strings:
    EV-
    EV:
    EV~
  Exclude strings:
    CMMStream
    DBFramework
    DirectoryConnection
-----
Current File Rollover Settings: Disabled

 

So you can disable rollover, so you get one big file, like you used to.  To do this go in to DTRACE, and type :

Rollover off

or

Rollover disable

You can also change the size that you will rollover if 100 Mb isn’t quite right.  You do that by going in to DTRACE, and typing :

Rollover size N

Where N is the number of megabytes to rollover at.  You get a confirmation, and information of what will  happen will be shown when you start the next DTRACE :

New log trace files will be created and previous files renamed to include a serial number and start/end times if the log trace exceeds 10Mb.

For a test I set my rollover to 1 Mb, and you can see you get a bunch of files :

20/07/2011  08:58         1,074,761 me_0001_085753_085835.txt
20/07/2011  08:58         1,074,712 me_0002_085835_085836.txt
20/07/2011  08:58         1,074,739 me_0003_085836_085837.txt
20/07/2011  08:59         1,016,534 me_0004_085837_085912.txt

Reference: http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=HOWTO38036

If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)